LibGuides: PubMed (English): Home

What is PubMed?

PubMed is a medical scientific database with more than 26 million biomedical references from more than 5,600 publications. The coverage period is from 1946. PubMed is maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Other biomedical sources

Embase This link opens in a new window Providing extensive and reliable coverage of peer-reviewed biomedical literature, along with deep indexing, power searching and sophisticated information management tools, with Embase you can be confident that all relevant, up-to-date biomedical information from the research literature has been captured. Embase holds over 24 million indexed records from more than 7500 active, authoritative journals and is more european oriented than PubMed and Medline. The records are bibliographic, not fulltext.

Embase is Pubmed's counterpart and therefore an important addition to your search strategy. Depending on the subject there is 1/3 overlap with Pubmed and they both offer 1/3 part of unique references.

Cochrane This link opens in a new window Fulltext database containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care. The Cochrane contains five databases with systematic reviews and two databases with information about research methodology.
- This link opens in a new window
Searching in the database is free; the fulltext version is only available via the network of Hogeschool Zuyd.
Pay attention!! the subscription is for a single-user; try later again if you can't get access

Use the Cochrane Library for finding evidence based material. One of the assets, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, is part of Pubmed.

Access to PubMed

Pubmed is a freely accessible database.
However:
Would you like to be able to see immediately whether an article is present in the Zuyd collection?
Or would you like to use search filters added by Zuyd Library?

Use this link to access Pubmed

Librarians

Marsha Bokhorst
marsha.bokhorst@zuyd.nl
045-4006029
Research Support

Danny Brassé
danny.brassé@zuyd.nl
045-4006032
Occupational Therapy,
Speech Therapy

Bas Nieuwenhuijsen
bas.nieuwenhuijsen@zuyd.nl
045-4006032
Nursing, Health Innovation

Christina Piovesan
christina.piovesan@zuyd.nl
045-4006029
Vocational Therapy

Liesbeth Ramaekers
liesbeth.ramaekers@zuyd.nl
045-4006032
Advanced Nursing
Practice, Physiotherapy
Biometrics