Below is a sample of Zuyd Library's collection. Of course our collection contains much more, especially through the journals. Use for example our search engine DiZ.
In addition, a number of portals suitable for this assignment. Also an overview of potentially appropriate E-journals.
Bridge the Culture Gaps: a toolkit for effective collaboration in the diverse, global workplace
The essential guide for working in diverse teams and across cultures today.
This practical self-help guide will optimize the performance of individuals and teams working in an intercultural environment. By increasing awareness of the nature and impact of diversity in the workplace and national cultural differences, it demonstrates how to use the power of difference to achieve positive results for all.
Countries, corporations and cultures: a multilevel approach
In this book, Paul Melessen develops a framework that incorporates multilevel modeling to bridge the gap between analyses of these two types of culture. Building upon and enriching existing theory, Melessen compares fifteen multinational corporations to demonstrate how organizational cultures differ from national cultures―and how they can be analyzed, described, and managed.
The culture map: breaking through the invisible boundaries of global business
In The Culture Map, INSEAD professor Erin Meyer is your guide through this subtle, sometimes treacherous terrain in which people from starkly different backgrounds are expected to work harmoniously together. She provides a field-tested model for decoding how cultural differences impact international business, and combines a smart analytical framework with practical, actionable advice.
Diversity competence: cultures don't meet, people do
In dit volledig Engelstalige boek is het uitgangspunt dan ook interpersoonlijke communicatie in plaats van interculturele communicatie: de ontmoeting tussen mensen en niet die tussen culturen. Van daaruit brengen de auteurs in kaart wat diversiteitscompetentie inhoudt: welke processen, uitdagingen en vaardigheden van belang zijn in een 'superdiverse' wereld. Het TOPOI-model biedt vervolgens een inclusieve, communicatieve benadering om eventuele misverstanden op te sporen en te verhelpen. Het boek bespreekt veel relevante theorie uit verschillende vakgebieden als HRM, media en business, en biedt talloze praktijkvoorbeelden en praktische handvatten.
A global mind, a joy forever: The role of intercultural competences in intercultural service encounters in the hotel sector
Proefschrift van Ankie Hoefnagels, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen ter verkrijging van de graad van doctor in het jaar 2014
Global perspectives on intercultural communication
What is intercultural communication? How does perspective shape a person’s definition of the key tenets of the term and the field? These are the core questions explored by this accessible global introduction to intercultural communication. Each chapter explores the topic from a different geographic, religious, theoretical, and/or methodological perspective, with an emphasis on non-Western approaches, including Buddhist, South American, Muslim, and Chinese perspectives.
Intercultural business communication
To help make students aware of these differences, Intercultural Business Communication contains practical guidelines and information on how to conduct negotiations across countries, write business letters in different societies, and includes the general dos and don'ts in international business.
Intercultural Communication
In the fully updated Seventh Edition of Intercultural Communication: A Contextual Approach, bestselling author James W. Neuliep provides a clear contextual model (visually depicted by a series of concentric circles) for examining communication within cultural, microcultural, environmental, sociorelational, and perceptual contexts. Students are first introduced to the broadest context--the cultural component of the model--and progress chapter by chapter through the model to the most specific dimensions of communication. Each chapter focuses on one context and explores the combination of factors within that context, including setting, situation, and circumstances. Highlighting values, ethnicity, physical geography, and attitudes, the book examines means of interaction, including body language, eye contact, and exchange of words, as well as the stages of relationships, cross-cultural management, intercultural conflict, and culture shock.
Intercultural competences
Also as e-book. Also in Dutch. Using a solid theoretical framework, the book Intercultural competences gives students insight into what culture actually entails. The book provides students sufficient tools to interact with all the different cultures worldwide.
Intercultural Politeness: Managing Relations across Cultures
It is increasingly important in our globalised world for people to successfully manage interpersonal relationships. This is the first book to tackle this vital topic, by taking an interdisciplinary approach to exploring the process of relating across cultures. Drawing together key concepts from politeness theory, intercultural communication, and cross-cultural/intercultural psychology, it provides a robust framework for analysing and understanding intercultural encounters.
Intercultural sensitivity: from denial to intercultural competence
Intercultural Sensitivity makes university and college students eager to learn about other cultures. It also makes them aware of the uniqueness of their own cultures, which they may take for granted. And it helps students recognize culture as a valuable resource. This book presents the cultural models by Hall, Kluckhohn, Hofstede, Trompenaars and Bennett as competencies.
Cross-cultural aspects of tourism and hospitality
This is the first textbook to offer students, lecturers, researchers and practitioners a comprehensive guide to the influence of culture on service providers as well as on customers, affecting both the supply and the demand sides of the industry – organisational behaviour, and human resource management, and marketing and consumer behaviour.
Also in printed available.
Discovering intercultural communication: from language users to language use
The book will be key reading for students taking modules on Intercultural Communication or Language, Culture and Communication.
Intercultural competences
Using a solid theoretical framework, the book Intercultural competences gives students insight into what culture actually entails. The book provides students sufficient tools to interact with all the different cultures worldwide.
Intercultural sensitivity: from denial to intercultural competence
Research shows that performance in culturally diverse groups is outstanding. However, productivity in diverse groups is low when cultural differences are regarded as a problem, ignored, and suppressed. Culturally diverse groups excel when differences are recognised and managed as valuable sources of innovation and growth. Intercultural Sensitivity makes university and college students eager to learn about other cultures. It also makes them aware of the uniqueness of their own cultures, which they may take for granted. And it helps students recognise culture as a valuable resource.
Working in a multicultural world: a guide to developing intercultural competence
How employees interact with their colleagues and customers is also a significant factor in their career development. Luciara Nardon draws on her extensive research and international experience to guide employees and managers through the ambiguous and uncertain waters of todays multicultural workplace.