Crave by 
The alcorithm: a unique flavour guide to find the drinks you'll love by
"Whether you're a fan of wine, beer, spirits, cocktails (or all of the above!), this unique book will help you navigate by flavour to discover countless new drinks you'll love. When it comes to what we drink, it's all too easy to stick to what we know. Yet there's a whole universe of booze just waiting to be enjoyed outside our comfort zone. This informative guide will lead you by the taste buds, using algorithms fed by your existing favourite drinks and flavours to reveal numerous others that will also suit your palate. Exploring the gamut of flavour styles, from floral and fruity to smoky and spicy, then showcasing all the drinks in which you can find them, including 40 classic cocktail recipes, The Alcorithm is powered entirely by your personal preferences. You'll never drink the same way again"
Mouthfeel by
Why is chocolate melting on the tongue such a decadent sensation? Why do we love crunching on bacon? Why is fizz-less soda such a disappointment to drink, and why is flat beer so unappealing to the palate? Our sense of taste produces physical and emotional reactions that cannot be explained by chemical components alone. Eating triggers our imagination, draws on our powers of recall, and activates our critical judgment, creating a unique impression in our mouths and our minds. How exactly does this alchemy work, and what are the larger cultural and environmental implications? Collaborating in the laboratory and the kitchen, Ole G. Mouritsen and Klavs Styrbæk investigate the multiple ways in which food texture influences taste. Combining scientific analysis with creative intuition and a sophisticated knowledge of food preparation, they write a one-of-a-kind book for food lovers and food science scholars. By mapping the mechanics of mouthfeel, Mouritsen and Styrbæk advance a greater awareness of its link to our culinary preferences. Gaining insight into the textural properties of raw vegetables, puffed rice, bouillon, or ice cream can help us make healthier and more sustainable food choices. Through mouthfeel, we can recreate the physical feelings of foods we love with other ingredients or learn to latch onto smarter food options. Mastering texture also leads to more adventurous gastronomic experiments in the kitchen, allowing us to reach even greater heights of taste sensation.
SALT, FAT, ACID, HEAT: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking by
An illustrated and visionary new masterclass in cooking that distils decades of professional experience into just four simple elements. Features 100 essential recipes with dozens of variations, enabling readers to master the skills of cooking instinctively.
The Essence of Gastronomy by
The Essence of Gastronomy: Understanding the Flavor of Foods and Beverages presents a new comprehensive and unifying theory on flavor, which answers ancient questions and offers new opportunities for solving food-related issues. It presents gastronomy as a holistic concept, focusing not only on the food and its composition but also on the human who eats it. This book defines gastronomy as the science of flavor and tasting, where flavor is a broadly interpreted objective characteristic that refers to product quality, and tasting is defined as the human perception of flavor registered by all the human senses. Understanding tasting and flavor and how humans react to it is not merely hedonistic. It relates to larger societal issues such as nourishing the elderly and the food children eat at school, and it offers a practical advantage to the hospitality industry of comprehending why customers enjoy their food and beverages. The book presents gastronomy as a discipline that combines natural sciences and human-related sciences. Following an introduction that sets the stage for the author¿s groundbreaking research on gastronomy, the book describes flavor perception, the sensorial act of tasting, how it works, and what neural systems are involved. It then focuses on understanding flavor, discussing universal flavor factors and the new flavor theory. The book also examines food and beverages from a flavor standpoint, including the effects of ingredients and techniques that are used. It also explores liking, primarily at the flavor level, which includes practical guidelines for matching food and beverages. The final chapter looks at the interpretation of sensorial signals in the brain and addresses issues such as food choice, preferences, and palatability. Offering a new approach, this book provides readers with a roadmap for finding their way into the gastronomic world.
E-book - Umami: taste for health by
This Open Access book covers the concept of umami, the unique taste imparted by the amino acid glutamate, was first described in 1908 by Dr. Kikunae Ikeda of Tokyo University. Over the past century, hundreds of studies have explored the mechanistic underpinnings of the taste, leading to the characterization of the umami taste receptor in 2002. How this fifth basic taste figures into nutrition and health, however, remains underexplored. Umami: Taste for Health provides an overview of the relationship between umami and human health. Authors explain how glutamate not only produces a characteristic oral sensation in the mouth but also functions as a signaling molecule to induce physiological responses. With the support of recent studies, the book demonstrates how the taste properties of umami make glutamate a promising substance to lower salt intake, promote satiation and support healthier aging. The text also covers practical culinary applications to increase umami flavor and practical usage of umami for promoting healthy eating. Provides an overview of the relationship between umami and human health; Explores the potential of glutamate to lower salt intake, promote satiation and support healthier aging; Covers practical culinary applications of umami flavor and practical usage of umami for promoting healthy eating.
The flavour thesaurus - more flavours: plant-led pairings, recipes and ideas for cooks by 
Wine and food: Basis for sommeliers by 
The art & science of foodpairing: 10,000 flavour matches that will transform the way you eat by
"Foodpairing is a method for identifying which foods go well together, based on groundbreaking scientific research that combines neurogastronomy (how the brain perceives flavour) with the analysis of aroma profiles derived from the chemical components of food.This groundbreaking new book explains why the food combinations we know and love work so well together (strawberries + chocolate, for example) and opens up a whole new world of delicious pairings (strawberries + parmesan, say) that will transform the way we eat. With ten times more pairings than any other book on flavour, plus the science behind flavours explained, Foodpairing will become THE go-to reference for flavour and an instant classic for anyone interested in how to eat well."
Wine food: new adventures in drinking and cooking by
It's a wine course in a cookbook! Frank and Slonecker tell readers how to buy, store, and taste wines, while sharing recipes that were inspired by and can be partnered with affordable wines.
Exquisite Matches by
Who better to praise the art of wine and food matching than Philippe Faure-Brac - sommelier, restauranteur and wine expert extraordinaire. Learn what certain wines can do for certain foods: to complement asparagus, salt cod brandade or stuffed cabbage, to ennoble quail with grapes a goat's cheese or a lemon tart; and learn what certain dishes can do for certain wines: magnify a Pomerol, glorify a Vosne-Romanee or tease out the charms of a Chablis. These are just a few of the featured stars in this compilation of 66 proven food and wine marriages, all based on classical French cuisine. They range from simple to the more ambitious and, in some cases, the downright unconventional - and they all work surprisingly well. Each featured combination is accompanied by a list of suitable alternatives: other wines (French and non-French) that would also enhance the aromas of the dish, and other dishes that would pair happily with the wine. Philippe Faure-Brac explains each choice in terms of aromas flavours, textures and terroir characteristics. As practical as it is enjoyable, the book comes complete with recipes, two cross-referenced wine and dish indexes and a listing of the author's preferred producers.
This Food That Wine by
Food and Wine Pairing Made Easy! Fast on the heels of hit TV series This Food That Wine, here is the companion cookbood and wine-pairing guide! Written by co-hosts Chef Angie MacRae and Sommelier Stacey Metylynsky with show producer and bestselling cookbook author Chris Knight, the book features over 150 recipes with an emphasis on fresh ingredients, simple preparation and big flavours.
What to Drink with What You Eat: the definitive guide to pairing food with wine, beer, sake, spirits, coffee, tea-- even water-- based on expert advice from Americas leading wine stewards by
Winner of the 2007 IACP Cookbook of the Year Award Winner of the 2007 IACP Cookbook Award for Best Book on Wine, Beer or Spirits Winner of the 2006 Georges Duboeuf Wine Book of the Year Award Winner of the 2006 Gourmand World Cookbook Award - U.S. for Best Book on Matching Food and Wine Prepared by a James Beard Award-winning author team, "What to Drink with What You Eat" provides the most comprehensive guide to matching food and drink ever compiled--complete with practical advice from the best wine stewards and chefs in America. 70 full-color photos.
